Love, Need, and Want You Baby! Maurice and the Family Go to Ms. Patti LaBelle’s Holiday Gala!

maurice_cartoon“John, our daughter–Hana–and I were invited to the fabulous Patti LaBelle’s annual holiday gala at her home in Wynnewood. I used to do Patti’s hair and natural-feeling wigs back in the early 90s, when I was still working out of my studio in New York, so it had been years since I’d seen her.
pool

“The main party was in Patti’s indoor pool house, all lavishly decorated with Christmas garlands, trees, ornaments–so festive and fun!

johnandmaurice“John and I had so much fun, drinking pool-side (that’s me on the right, obviously, wearing velvet Etro pants). We had a blast chatting with Patti’s lovely guests. Everyone was wonderful and warm and inviting!

pattiandthepres“On display was a picture of President Obama and Patti, along with the White House’s special holiday card, inscribed by all the family–even the dogs! And the food! Fried chicken, collard greens and mac and cheese and cat-fish–the best.

mauricehannapatti“Even though I hadn’t seen her in years, Patti hasn’t changed a bit. She’s gorgeous, and really, she’s the most genuine, real, warm person.

“Patti used to sing for me while she was sitting in my chair, while I worked on her hair. You can be imagine what it is like to be personally serenaded by Patti. We had a group picture with Patti, my daughter, and I.

patti_singing“There was a group sing around the piano–but Patti, of course, was the star. All her backup singers were there and backing her up. Leon Huff played the piano! She sang ‘Love, Need, Want You.’ She not only still has it, she’s only gotten better.

patticostume“Look at what I found! The costume Patti wore the first time I ever saw her in concert, in Philly! I’m not telling you when that was.

“Patti also just found a new talent, Amber, a little girl with a massive, astonishing voice. She sang Adele’s ‘Rolling in the Deep,’ and we were all cheering and clapping her on–unbelievable!

“It really was the best party ever! We’re so honored to have been included in Patti’s wonderful, warm gala. It’s what every party should be: brimming with delicious food, genuine laughter, singing, and warmth like you wouldn’t believe.

“Warmest holidays and New Year, beloved OMG clients and friends!”

Leave a comment